I Know She’s Out There

June 10, 2013

Oh, I know she’s out there
Could she be
Close by, maybe
Another place, another life
Hang on, we’ll see
She’s the mystery between the lines
Of a story I’ve read one million times
She’s the whisper in the wind
I can feel her closing in
And I’m starting to figure out
She’s the one I can’t live without
Oh, I know she’s out there

The midnight road’s a lonely place to be
On a moonless night like this for me
This dusty path has been ridden hard
Much like the roadway to my heart
I could swear I’ve been right here before
And I’m still not sure what I’m looking for
Circling the same old place
Feels like I’m lost in space

Oh, but I know she’s out there
Could she be
Close by, maybe
Another place, another life
Hang on, we’ll see
She’s the mystery between the lines
Of a story I’ve read one million times
She’s the whisper in the wind
I can feel her closing in
And I’m starting to figure out
She’s the one I can’t live without
Oh, I know she’s out there

This ain’t no fantasy
This life of mine
But that don’t mean there can’t be
A happy ending this time
No, this ain’t no fairytale
No happily ever after
And I guess that’s just as well
Because I’d die to hear her laughter

Oh, but I know she’s out there
Could she be
Close by, maybe
Another place, another life
Hang on, we’ll see
She’s the mystery between the lines
Of a story I’ve read one million times
She’s the whisper in the wind
I can feel her closing in
And I’m starting to figure out
She’s the one I can’t live without
Oh, I know she’s out there

Just one hug
Just one kiss
One simple touch
Could be the cure for all of this
But with a heart that’s gone amiss
I’d not be satisfied with just one kiss
One hug just wouldn’t do
Unless followed by one million more from you

Oh, I know she’s out there
Could she be
Close by, maybe
Another place, another life
Hang on, we’ll see
She’s the mystery between the lines
Of a story I’ve read one million times
She’s the whisper in the wind
I can feel her closing in
And I’m starting to figure out
She’s the one I can’t live without
Oh, I know she’s out there

But with a heart that’s gone amiss
I’d not be satisfied with just one kiss
One hug just wouldn’t do
Unless followed by one million more from you

Leave a Reply

