Who Am I? (And Other Existential Inquests)

June 4, 2013

If I ever get from here to there, it’ll be by the grace of God. I’m living a miracle and I thank God for that everyday. The age old philosophical inquiry goes, is the glass half full or half empty? Neither. My glass is twice as big as it need be.

Even so, I have my struggles. Loneliness being a big one. I’m used to it. At times, I even prefer it, but not all the time. I feel torn between many worlds. I’m not yet sure which world to call my home. Maybe my home is not meant to be of this world.

Who am I? Am I Mexican American or just American? Am I a signing Deaf or an oral deaf? Am I Protestant or am I Catholic? Am I a writer or an empath? Do I exist to see, smell, taste, touch, love, ponder and connect with others or is it because I do these things that I exist?

Who am I?

I wonder, will a time come when I learn to embrace the silence that envelopes my existence, not because my earthly ears cannot hear the voices surrounding me, but because my Divine Mentor has enabled me to leave them speechless?

Will that day come? Will I one day understand why God decided it was not in His will to have me hear the voices of this world? Could it be that it was His voice I was to focus on all along?

Who am I?

Leave a Reply

