The Game of Life

November 14, 2011

I didn’t get to play the card game with a full hand. That’s how I explain my life to others. As I sat down at the card table, it seemed everyone had a full hand but myself, who only had one card to play with. Frustrated and angry, I sat wondering how I was supposed to win this game with only one card. I bluffed my way through each round with a poker face, thinking that just getting by was the best I could hope for. I’d play this game as long as I could, if only to see how far I could get before my chips were spent. Life for me could have continued that way had I not had the courage to look into myself and see that though I had fewer cards than my opponents, the one card I had was an ace and that is all I need to win in life.

Leave a Reply

